Home Books 5 Exciting Books Like Malibu to Read This Summer

5 Exciting Books Like Malibu to Read This Summer

68
0

Are you a fan of Taylor Jenkins Reed books? Then here are 5 great books like Malibu Rebellion that you can add to your reading list!

Malibu Rebellion (by wildly popular author Taylor Jenkins-Reid) is a gripping, compelling book about family ties and the price of fame.

With a luxurious setting, realistic and relatable characters and an unusual family setting, it is a good portrayal of the reality behind fame and fortune.

It’s also a great story about reconnecting with your roots, even if your family history is complicated.

If you like Malibu Rebellion and you’re looking for something similar, here are five books you can add to your reading list.

These books have similar themes: slowly unfolding mysteries, family mysteries, and vividly described events.

If you want to escape from reality, look no further – these books love it Malibu Rebellion will take you to another place for a while.

5 Amazing Books Like Malibu Rebellion

The True Crime Story of Joseph Knox

The True Crime Story of Joseph Knox

A true crime story has a similar style Malibu Rebellion (and also incredibly popular Daisy Jones and Six).

Written as if the events were real, it investigates the disappearance of Zoe Nolan, a student at the University of Manchester.

Seven years later, the writer Evelyn Mitchell is involved in the story, who turns to crime writer Joseph Knox for help.

The book has a non-fiction style, using interviews and emails to unravel the case. Insightfully written, and how Malibu Rebellionthe characters are incredibly believable.

It’s the small details in the dialogue that make it feel like you’re actually eavesdropping on other people’s conversations.

This is a compelling story about how our memory works and how investigators can uncover the truth when memories differ.

Stylistically, this is a unique book, and the story unfolds a little differently than a typical novel. If you want to change things up a bit, this is a great opportunity to try.

Buy True Crime Story: Amazon | Book storage | The Blackwells | Verbosity | Water stones

Picture Perfect by Jodi Picoult

Picture Perfect by Jodi Picoult

If you want a juicy celebrity story, this is for you. Perfect picture tells the story of Cassie Barrett, an anthropologist married to Hollywood hottie Alex Rivers.

Their wedding was a fairy tale, but their marriage is another story.

Caught in a cycle of violence and anger, we meet Cassie in the midst of making the most difficult decision of her life. This book shatters the myth of the perfect celebrity couple.

Cassie reminds me of Nina River Malibu Rebellion: outwardly her situation is perfect, but inside the situation is much different. Pico excels at portraying small, subtle details in long-term relationships.

It’s probably worth noting that this book touches on some difficult topics, and if you have a hard time finding books about domestic violence, you may want to stay away.

Picoult excels at creating realistic characters that you can’t help but root for, even if you don’t agree with their decisions. Cassie’s journey is frustrating to watch at times, but her fight for her own freedom is compelling.

Buy Picture Perfect: Amazon | Book storage | The Blackwells | Verbosity | Water stones

Paper Palace by Miranda Cowley Heller

Paper Palace by Miranda Cowley Heller

Setting is important in both Malibu Rebellion and Paper palacewhere the place is almost as important as the characters.

Unlike Malibu Rebellion beautiful beach Paper palace The action takes place in an old chaotic house in the woods of Cape Cod.

The main characters in both books find solace and comfort in the water, even if the water doesn’t always treat them kindly in return.

While vacationing at her childhood home, the main character, Elle, cheats on her husband by sleeping with her best friend.

What follows is a deep dive into Elle’s life up to this point. Like Jenkins-Reid, Cowley Heller does a great job of portraying a complicated relationship.

Elle makes some questionable decisions about what she does Paper palace a good choice for book clubs.

A small warning: this book contains some very heavy topics. I won’t mention them here if you want to avoid spoilers, but it’s worth looking into it a little more if you want to avoid books with complex topics.

This makes the book a bit divisive, with some loving the brutal depiction of traumatic events, while others detest the lack of warnings. Again, this is another good book club discussion point.

Buy The Paper Palace: Amazon | Book storage | The Blackwells | Verbosity | Water stones

Saint X Alexey Shaitkina

Saint X Alexey Shaitkina

Saint X is excellent summer to read. It begins on the tropical island of St. X, where college student Alison disappears on a family vacation, and begins with both incredibly vivid images of paradise and a deep sense of unease that grips you almost immediately.

The rest of the story follows her younger sister Claire, now living in New York, as she desperately tries to uncover the truth about who her sister really was.

Claire stumbles upon a man, Clive, who has been questioned since her sister’s disappearance, and this begins an obsession to find out what happened.

Shaitkin describes the reality behind St. X’s paradise: beautifully manicured resorts with overflowing shipping containers out back.

Beautiful golden beaches and tractors scooping up seaweed before guests wake up in the morning. It is these details that make the events in the book more believable.

Saint X it’s the kind of book you’ll devour in a day Malibu Rebellion. The mystery behind the story makes it a readable read, but it also has some interesting points about wealth, poverty, race, and more. Again, this is a great choice for a book club!

Buy Saint X: Amazon | Book storage | The Blackwells | Verbosity | Water stones

Perfect Melodies by Emily Gould

Perfect Melodies by Emily Gould

Immediately after the start of the new millennium, Perfect melodies begins in New York, where hopeful musician Laura is trying to find her place in the music industry. Her story is somewhat driven by a tumultuous relationship with another musician.

They both struggle with life in post-9/11 New York, and the events of that relationship will reverberate for years.

Later, Laura’s daughter Marie has some tough questions that Laura isn’t ready to answer. Marie’s quest to uncover her own heritage echoes the siblings’ journey in the Malibu Rebellion.

It’s a journey about how far life can take you and whether it’s possible to completely detach from your past.

It also has many similar themes: parenthood, sacrifice, and broken dreams. The characters are believable and again, you’ll root for them through everything, even if you don’t agree with some of their choices.

Perfect melodies it’s touching, cute and memorable. It’s also a light read, perfect for a summer getaway.

Buy Perfect Tunes: Amazon | Book storage | The Blackwells | Verbosity | Water stones

If you are looking for books similar to Malibu Rebellion, hopefully these books will help fill the gap! They’re all perfect for summer vacations, so you can cram them into your suitcase and enjoy a break from reality.

If you enjoyed this post, check these out:
Books like Daisy Jones and Six
Books similar to Evelyn Hugo’s Seven Husbands
Books like Where the Crawdads Sing
Books, like fires everywhere
Books like Eleanor Oliphant are perfectly fine
Books are like ordinary people

Megan Bidmead

Megan Bidmead

Guest writer

Megan is a freelance writer from Somerset, England. When she’s not writing about books, video games, and pop culture, she’s chasing after her two kids and trying to take the occasional walk in the countryside.

Source link

Previous articleSomething to wait | Week of July 11, 2022
Next articleTools for creating stop-motion movies